newsdog Facebook

Virendar Sehwag becomes a member of NADA

shine news 2017-11-11 00:07:23

New Delhi: NADA is the national organisation responsible for promoting, coordinating, and monitoring the doping control program in sports in all its forms in India. Senior opener Virender Sehwag and former Delhi player Vinay Lamba have been made members of the National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA) Anti-Doping Appeal Panel (ADAP). Vinay Lamba, playing 76 first-class matches between Sehwag and Delhi from 1967 to 1981, is a member of the six-member panel headed by retired judge RV Ishwar.

The other members of the Panel are senior advocates, Datta Makhija, Dr. Navin Dang and Harsh Mahajan. According to sources, the meeting lasted for two hours on Thursday, but Sehwag did not appear in it.

Apart from this, Nada has included former weightlifter Kunjarani Devi, who is guilty of doping, as a member of the Anti-Doping Disciplinary Panel (ADDP). Kunjarani was banned for six months because of being caught in doping in 2001. Then he was found guilty of consuming forceful medicine in the Asia Championships in South Korea. Now he will decide with other members whether a player is guilty or not.

Apart from Kunjarani in ADDP, players like Akhil Kumar (boxing), Reith Abraham (athletics), Jagbir Singh (hockey) and Rohit Rajpal (tennis) are included. The ADDP president will be retired district and sessions judge Kuldeep Singh. Other members include Manik Dogra, Nalin Kohli, Bina Gupta and Surabhi Mehta (all advocates), Vinod Dogra, Dr. Ankit Sharma and Dr. Chengappa.

Image Copyright: indian express