newsdog Facebook

Pakistani Opener Sharjeel Khan seeks justice from PM Shahid Khan Abbasi

Crictracker 2017-12-06 19:23:08
Sharjeel Khan of Pakistan. (Photo by Chris Hyde – CA/Cricket Australia/Getty Images)

The Pakistan anti-corruption tribunal banned Pakistani opener Sharjeel Khan from all forms of cricket for five years as they seek a stiffer sentence for the 28-year-old left-hander. Sharjeel Khan was provisionally suspended along with fellow opener Khalid Latif in February for violating the PCB anti-corruption code.

The aggressive left-hander believes that he hasn’t been given a fair chance to prove his case and has sought justice from Prime Minister Shahid Khakan Abbasi claiming that injustice has been done to him.

Look to put his case forward

Talking to media on Tuesday, Sharjeel seems to be confident and said, “I want to meet Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Najam Sethi so that I may clear myself on all matters.” He further went on to accuse PCB anti-corruption unit saying, “The Pakistan Cricket Board tribunal is too weak to take action against anyone, they think, they should punish or ban.”

The charges were centred on a match between Islamabad United and Peshawar Zalmi in Dubai during PSL in February this year. It has been believed that Sharjeel intentionally scored just one run of four deliveries he faced and threw his wicket away on the very next ball. This incident came into limelight as fast as a light ray, and investigations against the 28-year-old proved him guilty.

Banned for Five Years

Asghat Haider, who headed the three-member tribunal said, “Sharjeel is banned for five years, which has two-and-a-half years suspended,” We investigated all the charges and found them correct.” The minimum punishment for the charges was five years with a maximum of a life ban.

The other two members of the three-member committee were Former PCB head Tauqir Zia and erstwhile Pakistan captain Wasim Bari. Also, the players who were included in the investigation on multiple charges were, M Irfan, Shahzaib Hasan, Nasir Jamshed and M Nawaz.