newsdog Facebook

Karnataka by-election results 2018: Counting of votes for 5 constituencies to begin at 8 am today

News X 2018-11-06 07:45:00

The counting of votes for the Karnataka by-elections 2018 will commence today at the 8 am for the five constituencies. The polling was held on Saturday and today results for 3 Lok Sabha and 2 assembly seats will be declared. According to the reports, the state Elections Commission has deployed 1,248 counting officers in 5 counting centres. The results will be announced 3 Lok Sabha seats— Ballari, Shivamogga and Mandya and 2 assembly seats— Ramanagara and Jamkhandi will come out.

Describing the security arrangements, a state police senior officer said, “Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure that no untoward incident takes place during the counting of votes. Police personnel have been deployed around the counting centres and strong rooms where the EVMs are placed.”

The election officer will today announce the fate for 31 candidates from all the five constituencies. An estimated 67 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the by-polls for five constituencies. The contest is mainly between the Congress-JD(S) alliance, who are in power in the state, and BJP.

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Name *

Email *

Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App