newsdog Facebook

LIVE: Who's leading and who's trailing in the Karnataka bypolls

News 24 Online 2018-11-06 12:33:00

New Delhi, News24 Bureau, Nov 6: Who's leading and who's trailing in the Karnataka bypolls. Here are the LIVE updates.

The list of losers and winners in Karnataka Polls present a mix bag:

Ramanagara (Assembly seat)
Anita Kumaraswamy (winner) of JD-S versus BJP's L Chandrashekhar

Jamkhandi (Assembly seat)
Congress's Anand Nyamagowda (winner) versus BJP's Kulkarni Shrikant Subrao

Shivamogga (Lok Sabha seat)
Former chief minister BS Yeddyurappa's son B Y Raghavendra (leads) versus ex-chief minister S Bangarappa's son Madhu Bangarappa of the JD-S. Janata Parivar veteran and former chief minister J H Patel's son Mahima J Patel is also in the fray as a JD-U candidate.

Mandya (Lok Sabha seat)
JD-S's Shivarame Gowda (winner) versus Dr Siddaramaiah of the BJP.

Ballari  (Lok Sabha seat)
V S Ugrappa of the Congress (winner) was pitted against senior BJP leader Sriramulu's sister J Shantha.

-Cong celebrates Bellary win : Karnataka: Congress workers celebrate outside the counting station in Bellary. Congress' candidate VS Ugrappa won the parliamentary seat.

- Cong-JDS win four out of five bypolls in Karnataka: JDS wins Mandya and Ramanagaram, Congress wins Bellary and Jamkhandi. In Shivamoga, BS Yeddyurappa's son is in the lead.
That's four out of five seats for the Congress-JD(S) combine.

-BJP's BY Raghavendra leads by 32563 votes in Shimoga, INC's VS Ugrappa leads by 151060 votes in Bellary and JD's LR Shivaramegowda leads by 76952 votes in Mandya. 

-Ballari: The Congress is leading. V S Ugrappa leads by 84,257 over BJP's J Shantha

Mandya: Coalition partner Janata Dal (Secular) is leading. JD(S)' Shivarame Gowda leads over BJP's Siddaramaiah.

Ramanagara and Jamkhandi: The JD(S)-Congress coalition leading.

Two wins already for the Cong-JD-S coalition government in Ramanagaram and Jamkhandi.
-Congress's Anand Siddu Nyamagouda leads over BJP's Kulkarni Shrikant Subrao in Jamkhandi assembly seat.

-JDS's Anitha Kumaraswamy leads over BJP's L Chandrashekhar in Ramanagaram assembly seat.

-BJP's BY Raghavendra leads over JDS's S Madhubangarappa in Shimoga parliamentary seat.

-Congress's VS Ugrappa leads over BJP's J Shantha by 45808 votes in Bellary parliamentary seat

-JD(S) leading by 1,09,066 votes over BJP in Mandya parliamentary seat after counting of votes in round 5. 

The results for three Lok Sabha and two assembly constituencies in Karnataka that Saturday went to the bypolls, seen as a prestigious popularity test for the ruling Congress-JDS coalition, will be declared today. An estimated 67 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the bypolls for five constituencies. A total of 31 candidates were in the fray from all the five constituencies, though the contest is mainly between the Congress-JDS combine and the BJP.

The bypoll results will determine the fate of Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy's wife Anita Kumaraswamy, state BJP chief B S Yeddyurappa's son B Y Raghavendra and former Chief Minister S Bangarappa's son Madhu Bangarappa and others.
Among the interesting things that one needs to watch out for is to what extent BJP would be able to make inroads into the JD-S bastion of Mandya and the Congress stronghold of Jamkhandi.
Of similar interest would be to what extent the Congress will be able to regain its significance in its erstwhile party stronghold of Ballari, the seat earlier won by its top leader Sonia Gandhi.
The outcome of the bypolls is expected to have a bearing on the equations between the Congress and JD-S for the 2019 polls and also be a factor in determining the respective bargaining power of the two parties.
The bypolls were seen as significant as the coalition partners contested together, terming it as a "prelude" to the May 2019 general elections and called for a similar "grand secular alliance" against the BJP at the national level.

Agencies (Pic Courtesy Internet)