newsdog Facebook

Five prominent senators that will not return to the Nigerian Senate | The Guardian

News Summed Up 2019-01-10 05:30:00

For a gamut of reasons from contesting other political positions, losing primaries to simply stepping down, here are five senators that will not return for the ninth Senate. Fully entrenched in politics, the Bayelsa-East Senator will not return to the ninth Senate due to a rotational arrangement between the three local governments in the Senatorial district. The former Plateau State governor is currently serving a jail term in Kuje prison, Abuja. David Mark (PDP, Benue South)After 20 years in the Senate, David Mark will not be returning as the Senate representative for the Benue South Senatorial district. Unlike current Senate President Bukola Saraki, who was also a PDP Presidential aspirant, Mark did not purchase a form for his return to the Senate.