newsdog Facebook

IPL 2019, Chennai vs Kolkata: Latest Updates

Zee News 2019-04-14 15:31:34

Table-toppers Chennai will look to continue their winning ways when they host Kolkata in 2019 IPL at Eden Gardens on Sunday. 

Here are the latest updates: 

Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led Chennai will look to complete double against Team Kolkata when they face each other for the second time in the 2019 Indian Premier League (IPL) clash at the Eden Gardens on Sunday. 

Chennai will head into the clash on the back of Dhoni's on-field argument with umpires during their four-wicket win over Rajasthan in Jaipur on Thursday. The wicketkeeper-batsman was fined 50 percent of his match fee for breaching a Level 2 IPL Code of Conduct.

Dhoni's side, who are currently placed at the top of the IPL standings with six wins from seven games they have played so far, will definitely head into the clash as favorites. 

Chennai have been performing as a unit with the likes of Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Shane Watson and Kedar Jadhav all contributing with the bat in some matches or the other.

Meanwhile, Deepak Chahar is the second highest wicket-taker in the IPL so far with 10 wickets.

Kolkata, on the other hand, are standing second in the table with four wins from seven matches. 

Going into the match, Dinesh Karthik-led team would be keen to get back to winning ways after losing their last two matches against Delhi and Chennai by seven wickets. 

The two teams are as follows: 

Kolkata: Dinesh Karthik (captain), Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Joe Denly, Lockie Ferguson, Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Harry Gurnley, Kuldeep Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Nitish Rana, Sandeep Warrier, K.C. Cariappa, Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Shrikant Mundhe, Nikhil Naik, Anrich Nortje, Prithvi Raj, Prasidh Krishna.

Chennai: MS Dhoni (captain & WK), Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Murali Vijay, Kedar Jadhav, Sam Billings, Ravindra Jadeja, Dhruv Shorey, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Rituraj Gaikwad, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, Imran Tahir, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell Santner, Shardul Thakur, Mohit Sharma, K.M. Asif, Deepak Chahar, N. Jagadeesan (wk), Scott Kuggeleign

(With PTI inputs)