newsdog Facebook

Karnataka Political Chaos: Supreme Court Asks Rebel Congress, JDS MLAs To Submit Resignations To Speaker by 6 PM Today, Says 'Security Will be Provided' | LatestLY

Latestly 2019-07-11 11:41:00

New Delhi, July 11: The Supreme Court on Thursday asked 10 rebel Congress and JDS MLAs of Karnataka to meet the State Assembly Speaker at 6 pm today and submit their resignations. The apex court added that security would be provided to the MLAs. the court asked Karnataka Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar to take his decision in the remaining part of the day today and also ordered the DGP of the state to provide protection to all the rebel MLAs. The hearing over the issue has now been adjourned for Friday, July 12.  Karnataka Crisis: Political Turmoil Deepens As JDS-Congress Coalition Close to Losing Majority, BJP Seeks Governor's Intervention.

The crisis for the HD Kumaraswamy government has deepened in Karnataka with the Congress-JDS numbers coming down to 103 in the state Assembly. As per reports, at least 13 rebel MLAs are stationed at a hotel in Mumbai. On Wednesday, Karnataka Congress leader and minister DK Shivakumar wasn't allowed to meet rebel MLAs and kept waiting outside the hotel. Amit Shah, Narendra Modi Are Behind Political Crisis in Karnataka, Says Siddaramaiah.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has been demanding Kumaraswamy's resignation as Karnataka Chief Minister, saying that he had lost the numbers to remain in power.

Meanwhile, Congress leader and former CM Siddaramaiah on Wednesday alleged that Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah were offering money and even threatening Congress MLAs in Karnataka.

The strength of the Karnataka assembly is 224. The Congress and the JDS together have 118 members along with one BSP and one Independent MLA. The current majority mark is 113, excluding the Speaker, who casts his vote only in the event of a tie. If the 15 resignations put out by rebel MLAs are accepted, it will bring the Congress-JDS coalition's number down to 103 and the majority mark in the Assembly will be down from 113 to 106. The BJP at present has 105 MLAs.