newsdog Facebook

PKL 2019 | Maninder Singh to lead Bengal Warriors in new season

Sports Cafe 2019-07-18 11:30:26

The Bengal Warriors announced on Wednesday that star raider Maninder Singh would be leading the Kolkata-based franchise in the new season. After managing to enter the playoffs under the leadership of Surjeet Singh, the Warriors decided to do away with him with a much revamped squad for new season.

Despite being in the league since its inception, the Warriors’ best run came only in the last season when they reached the playoffs and finished within a touching distance of the coveted trophy. Not having a very star-studded squad, the Warriors needed a collective effort from the squad and the likes of Maninder Singh, Mahesh Goud, Ravinder Kumawat, and Jang Kun Lee stepped up. 

However, with Lee and Surjeet Singh now leaving the franchise, the Warriors would be needing the experience of the striker to lead them in the upcoming season. The star raider, who was also a part of the Indian seven against World seven in the recent match, was the fourth in the raider’s list last year with 206 raid points from 22 matches.

Bengal Warriors Squad:

Baldev Singh, Maninder Singh, Adarsh T, Ravindra Kumawat, Sahil, Mohammad Nabibakhsh, K Prapanjan, Jeeva Kumar, Rinku Narwal, Sukesh Hegde, Amit Kumar, Rakesh Narwal, Mohammad Taghi, Amir Santosh Dhumal, AR Avinash, Vijin Thangadurai, Bhuvneshwar Gaur, Viraj Vishnu Landge, Dharmendra Singh.