newsdog Facebook

Dineth, Ashain & Shalinda shine as St. Joseph’s triumph over De Mazenod

The Papare 2019-11-08 20:32:47

St. Joseph’s College, Colombo defeated De Mazenod College, Kandana in their own backyard in a Singer U19 Division 1 Cricket Tournament game today, 8th November. Three other games came to a close today while three more games got underway.

De Mazenod College, Kandana vs St. Joseph’s College, Colombo

The hosts won the toss and elected to bat first, only to stage a disappointing outing as the boys from Darley road took their turn to bat just 40 overs into the game. De Mazenod College scored 109 runs in their first-innings. Senash Fernando top scored with 26 for the Mazenodians. Ashain Daniel and Shalinda Seneviratne were the stars with the ball for St. Joseph’s as the duo bowled exceptionally well in tandem to leave the home boys bamboozled. Off-spinner Daniel bagged 4 wickets for 35 runs while left-arm spinner Shalinda Seneviratne picked up 3 wickets.

The main architect of the Josephian reply was Dineth Jayakody who struck a handsome 75 runs. Miranga Wickramage, who came in late down the order, steadied the ship for the Joes when things were starting to look bad. Wickramage scored a valuable 43 runs. Young right-arm quick Sihina Sithumina registered a fifer to give hopes to the host. 

Things went from bad to worse in no time for De Mazenod College as they were uprooted for 114 runs in the second-innings. Seneviratne was in the limelight once again, picking up 4 more scalps while Ashain also added another 3 to his account. Skipper Johanne de Zilva chipped in with 3 wickets with his right-arm medium pace.

St Joseph’s chased down the 18-run target comfortably.

Brief scores

De Mazenod College 109 (40.1)

Senash Fernando 26, Nimna Fernando 22, Chamod Dananjaya 21, Ashain Daniel 4/35, Shalinda Seneviratne 3/28 

& 114 (35.1)

Sandev Fernando 22, Shalinda Seneviratne 4/49, Johanne de Zilva 3/24, Ashain Daniel 3/37

St. Joseph’s College 207 (57.5) 

Dineth Jayakody 75, Miranga Wickramage 43, Ashain Daniel 20, Sihina Sithumina 5/41, Senash Fernando 3/62 

& 18/0 (3)


Maris Stella College, Negombo vs St. Sylvester’s College, Kandy

St. Sylvester’s College hosted Maris Stella College in a traditional fixture in Gampola. Winning the toss and batting first, Maris Stella College scored 207 runs in their first-innings. Tharindu Maduwantha scored an anchoring half-century for Maris Stella College while Charith Rajaguru was the pick of the bowling for the Kandy school with figures of 4 for 31.

Rajaguru had a fantastic game as h top-scored for St. Sylvester’s with 40 runs to his name. St. Sylevster’s College scored 184 runs in their first-innings. Thilina Perera was the star with the ball for the Negombo school with figures of 4 for 64.

Maris Stella struggled in the second-innings, falling for 152 runs. Skipper, Naveen Fernando played a valiant knock of 49 runs while it was Rajaguru again who was outstanding for the hosts as he added 3 more wickets to his tally. 

The game was brought to a draw by sunset on day-two as St. Sylvester’s were stuttering at 41 for 4 in their second-innings. 

Brief scores

Maris Stella College 207 (46.2) 

Tharindu Maduwantha 50, Amantha Perera 32, Chemindu Weerawansha 28, Shan Dulara 32, Charith Rajaguru 4/31, Shashika Basnayaka 3/64 

& 152 (33.2) 

Naveen Fernando 49, Pasindu Shaman 21, Charith Rajaguru 3/35, Shashika Basnayaka 3/60

St. Sylvester’s College 184 (55.1) 

Charith Rajaguru 40, Chandula Jayakodi 31, Malith Lakshan 29, Thilina Perera 4/64, Sandeepa Fernando 3/48, Naveen Fernando 2/26 

& 41/4 (21) 

Mohommed Reeza 22, Thilina Perera 2/11, Sandeepa Fernando 2/25 


Dharmaraja College, Kandy vs D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo

D.S. Senanayake College won the toss and elected to bat first in this traditional fixture at the Dharmaraja College grounds. The boys from Colombo 07 scored 191 runs for the first-innings. Maneendra Jayathilaka top-scored with 45 runs while Upendra Warnakulasuriya ran through the D.S. batting line-up, bagging 6 wickets for 56 runs. 

Dharmaraja College replied with a mountainous 268 runs. Skipper Dulaj Bandara made a stroke filled 93 runs while Dinuka Thisumitha supported him with 57 runs. 

The visitors made 178 runs in the second-innings while the game came to a close by then. Abishek Liyanarachchi scored a fighting 45 runs while Chethiya Ekanayaka topped the bowling card with 4 for 25. 

Brief scores

D.S. Senanayake College 191 (50.2) 

Maneendra Jayathilaka 45, Pumiditha Perera 39, Amitha Dabare 36, Abishek Liyanarachchi 35, Upendra Warnakulasuriya 6/56, Thushan Bandara 3/29 

& 178 (43.3) 

Abishek Liyanarachchi 45, Teron Shenal 33, Amitha Dabare 27, Chamath Yatawara 24, Muditha Lakshan 25, Vinuka De Silva 20, Chethiya Ekanayakas 4/25, Upendra Warnakulasuriya 3/44, Thushan Bandara 2/39

Dharmaraja College 268 (82.5) 

Dulaj Bandara 93, Dinuka Tishumitha 57, Yasitha Samararathna 42, Janith Gunathunga 39, Maneendra Jayathilaka 2/25, Chamath Yatawara 2/43, Amitha Dabare 2/43


Isipathana College, Colombo vs Mahinda College, Galle

Ravindu Rathnayake made an elegant knock of 84 at the Galle International Stadium as Isipathana College battled Mahinda College in a group ‘A’ fixture. Isipathana College posted 275 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in the first-innings.

Subhanu Rajapaksha and Kushan Madusha bagged 3 wickets each to star in the bowling department for Mahinda College.

Mahinda was surprisingly poor in the batting as they were undone for 163 runs at which is more or less their home grounds. Kaushitha Kodithuwakku was the only one who showed intent with the bat as he ended his knock with 59 runs. Left-arm spinner Lomitha Ravindith registered a fifer for 30 runs. 

The follow-on was enforced and it was another disappointing outing for Mahinda as they were struggling at 102 runs for 7 wickets when the umpires decided to take the bails off.

Brief scores

Isipathana College 275/9d (69.2) 

Ravindu Rathnayaka 84, Savindu Uthsara 53, Leshan Amarasingha 44, Thevindu Dikwella 39, Kavindu Amantha 36, Subanu Rajapaksha 3/59, Kushan Madusha 3/82

Mahinda College 163 (64.3) 

Kaushitha Kodithuwakku 59, Sadew Induwara 26, Kavindu Lakshan 23, Subanu Rajapaksha 22, Lomitha Ravindith 5/30, Yasiru Kasthuriarachchi 2/19 

& F/O 102/7 (56) 

Sithira Helitha 34*, Shakya Sampath 23, Savindu Uthsara 3/38, Lomitha Ravindith 2/21


Brief scores

Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya vs St. Peters College, Colombo

  • At St. Peter’s Grounds (Toss: Dharmapala)

Dharmapala College 171 (54.1)

Navidu Naveen 48, Thisara Sisara 37, Vihanga Gunarathna 24, Praveen Kumarapperuma 20, Ruwin Senevirathna 4/34, Trishen Wickramasingha 2/36, Kanishka Maduwantha 2/50

St. Peter’s College 110/3 (27)

Reshika Santhush 62*, Nipunaka Fonseka 38, Pasindu Dimuditha 3/24


Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa vs S. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia

  • At POW Ground, Moratuwa (Toss: POW)

Prince of Wales College 253 (81.1)

Dinura Fernando 71, Pasindu Pathum 54, Ashan Fernando 34, Omesh Mendis 30, Randeew Gunasekara 4/70, Shamilka Wickramathilaka 2/49, Dilmin Rathnayaka 2/70

S. Thomas’ College 32/2 (11)


St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa vs Royal College, Colombo

  • At St. Sebastian’s Grounds (Toss: St. Sebastian’s)

St. Sebastian’s College 123 (46.1)

Dunith Jayathunga 45, Prashan Kalhara 5/41

Royal College 168/5 (50)

Ahan Wickramasingha 95*, Kamil Mishara 25, Kavindu Pathirathna 23*, Thadula De Silva 2/35