newsdog Facebook

240 receive degrees at IIT-Ropar

The Tribune 2019-11-09 08:02:00

In all, 212 students besides 28 scholars were awarded degrees at the eight convocation of the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Ropar, here today.

Those awared degrees of graduation and post-graduation comprised 113 (BTech), 56 (MSc), 37 (MTech) and 6 MS (research programme). Twenty eight others got their PhD degrees.

Suveer Kumar of the Department of Mechanical Engineering received the President of India Gold Medal while Director, Gold Medal, was awarded to Aditya Gupta of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering.

The Institute Silver medals were given to BTech students Gaurav Kamila (electrical engineering) and Aditya Gupta (electrical engineering). Simlarly, MTech students Debasmita Mukherjee (biomedical engineering), Prateek Munjal, (computer science and engineering), Arshdeep Singh Sandhu (electrical engineering) and Pulak Gupta (thermal engineering) also were given Institute Silver Medals.

The medals were also given to Rajat Kumar in MSc (Chemistry), Sandeep Kumar Mishra in MSc (Mathematics) and Himanshu Gaur in MSc (Physics).

During 2018-19, the faculty published 334 manuscripts and produced 24 research scholars. In all, 268 research scholars have attended various conferences in India and abroad during this period.

2-day #LeaveNoOneBehind Conclave begins on Nov 11

ISTC’s 1969 batch marks golden jubilee